Cody Bowles (vocals, drums), and Kevin Comeau (guitar, bass, and keys), members of the Juno Award-winning powerhouse rock band Crown Lands, today shared information about their upcoming sophomore studio album, Fearless, which will be available on March 31 via Spinefarm Records/Universal Music Canada, the largest record label in the nation. The album is currently available for pre-order here. The 18-minute composition “Starlifter: Fearless Pt. II,” the opening track on the album that sets the bar high and introduces the entire Fearless experience, was released by Crown Lands in conjunction with the album’s announcement. “This is undoubtedly our greatest accomplishment. The finest song we have ever produced. An 18-minute work of art., a demonstration of prog’s effectiveness. A record of how much noise two people can make, “Comeau screams.

The nine-track album comes after Crown Lands’ eponymous debut (2020). It was created over six months, in brief, intense bursts between tours, in Toronto’s 80A Studio with producer David Bottrill (Rush, Muse, Tool, Mastodon). Fearless embraces more of the band’s earliest prog-rock passions than its predecessor did, showing Crown Lands’ talent for unadulterated blues rock. Fans will recognize some previously released tracks, “Context: Fearless Pt. I” and “Right Way Back,” which are familiar touchpoints framing the new soundscape. The album is an unapologetically rich, ambitious work that is still easily accessible.

“Starlifter: Fearless Pt. II,” the album’s lead single, exhibits otherworldly, Vangelis-like qualities balanced by juicy rock solos, sci-fi mystique, an alluring 11/8 section, gentle chimes, and gauzy synths. It also expands on the universe and protagonist that Crown Lands has been developing. “This epic story spans hundreds of years following our titular hero: Fearless after the events of (2021 single) “The Oracle,” according to Bowles, who also explains the basic premise. He opposes the extinction of his people and the colonization of space to reclaim what was taken through bloodshed and ruthless capitalism. “These are themes that may sound like a mere fantastic tale to some, but we wanted to marry sci-fi elements with very real issues,” says Bowles, who also writes science fiction. Indigenous people have experienced numerous hardships. That might be referred to as Indigenous futurism. If you look for it, there is a deeper meaning to this story, which is something I have always loved about songs that get better the more you lean into them.

Crowned Lands Fearless

Fearless Track Listing: 

  1. Starlifter: Fearless Pt. II
  2. Dreamer Of The Dawn
  3. The Shadow
  4. Right Way Back
  5. Context: Fearless Pt. I
  6. Reflections
  7. Penny
  8. Lady Of The Lake
  9. Citadel

Unkowndivide may earn a small commission from affiliate links in this article. Learn more

Scroll to Top